By Pepper

The Josh Abbott Band has announced its next album, Until My Voice Goes Out, will be released on August 18th.

“This album is about appreciating the moment and your family and your friends and living life the right way,” Josh says in a press release. “It’s really all about finding clarity and focusing on what’s important.”

During the final stages of working on the album, Josh’s personal life went through some ups and downs, including his father’s stroke (and ultimate passing), and two months later, the birth of Josh’s first child, a little girl.

Related: Josh Abbott Band Lives It Up at the House of Blues, Anaheim [Setlist]

Josh’s last album, Front Row Seat was compared to a five-act play, and Until My Voice Goes Out continues Josh’s signature trait of delivering albums with themes. For this one, arranger Rob Mathes includes preludes for the songs that bookend the project: “An Appreciation of Life” and “Farewell Father,” bringing a cohesiveness to the album and an acknowledgement to its backstory.

Josh will play the House of Blues, Anaheim, on Thursday, September 28th, and the House of Blues, San Diego, on Friday, September 29th. He’ll wrap up his West Coast run at the sold-out Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas on Saturday, October 1st.


Until My Voice Goes Out Track List

  1.    Prelude: An Appreciation of Life
  2.    Until My Voice Goes Out
  3.    Heartbeatin’
  4.    Texas Women, Tennessee Whiskey
  5.    I’m Your Only Flaw
  6.    Prelude: Hope & Hesitance
  7.    Girl Down in Texas
  8.    Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
  9.    Kinda Missing You
  10. Heartbeat and A Melody
  11. The Night Is Ours
  12. Dance With You All Night Long
  13. Ain’t My Daddy’s Town
  14. Epilogue: Farewell Father

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live