By Pepper

Singer-songwriter Maggie Rose wrapped up last week’s mini-tour of the West Coast (which included a stop at the Hotel Cafe in Los Angeles) Saturday night (October 14th) at Moonshine Beach in San Diego.

The crowd came to party, and Maggie indulged them with her sassiness. Her set included the sultry “Body on Fire,” the self-confident “Love Me More,” the surprising cover of Drake’s “Hotline Bling” and two originals to be released this Friday: “Pull You Through” and “Just Getting By.”

She noted the atmosphere in Las Vegas the previous night was happily upbeat when she performed her radio single, “Better,” reminding the crowd, “Life is for the living.” She described “Looking Back Now” (identified by its original title “Whiskey and a Gun”), as a “cautionary tale,” and brought all the sass to “I Ain’t Your Mama.”

But Maggie also proved herself well-versed in classics like Dolly Parton‘s “9 to 5” (declaring, “It’s the freaking weekend!”) and Blondie’s “Heart of Glass.” She paid tribute to the late Tom Petty with “I Won’t Back Down,” and encouraged the crowd to couple up for Hank Williams‘ “Your Cheatin’ Heart,” (“I better see some dancing!”) while the lights dimmed and disco ball spun.

It was an apropos cover for the singer, whose old soul and other-worldly voice are definitely reminiscent of Patsy Cline.


  1. Too Many Love Songs
  2. Inevitable
  3. I Ain’t Your Mama
  4. 9 to 5 (Dolly Parton cover)
  5. Body on Fire
  6. What I Deserve
  7. I Won’t
  8. Whiskey and a Gun (Looking Back Now)
  9. Your Cheatin’ Heart (Hank Williams cover)
  10. Love Me More
  11. Better
  12. We’ll Grow Out of It
  13. Heart of Glass (Blondie cover)
  14. We’ll Grow Out of It
  15. Pull You Through
  16. Just Getting By
  17. Hotline Bling (Drake cover)
  18. Same Sky
  19. Won’t Back Down (Tom Petty cover)
  20. Dancin’
  21. Smooth
  22. More Dreams Than Dollars

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live